CHAPTER 2

The next day was the D-day for the official commencement of the National Science and Maths Quiz.The NSMQ is an educational program organized annually for, basically, graduate Senior High Students. Previously, a contest was organized between two schools, each consisting of three representatives, and it usually begins at 9.00am GMT. Presently, it’s been changed. It’s now organised among three schools, each consisting of two students.Each school is entitled to some set of questions. A majorly answered question attracts three points for free. I’m still wondering how ‘free’ that is if one has to do work by answering?(duh).There are times when a major question is not answered correctly so it is passed on for a bonus mark (that’s if any school answers).

At 7.30am prompt, the various schools had gathered at the cafeteria to  take their breakfast. This time around HER school, WGHS , was the first to take because they had a contest to battle. My group was the last to take.One lucky thing was that SHE was not part of the final squad (but she was not a moron) her school presented for the quiz so she actually was left behind with some few mates of hers. I saw her from a distance. She had her glasses on. Her beauty had become indescribable. Continue reading In short, she looked ‘mwah.’

“My salvation time and day has come, and is now,” I interior monologued. I guess you were thinking same? Brilliant on your part if you also thought same. I walked ambly to HER. SHE was sitting alone, and eating. I shivered a little whilst I was walking to her. I’m not exaggerating; I’m only telling you what I truly experienced.Finally I saw myself sitting right opposite to her. I have always had this funny feeling:

“My first approach to a girl would be a debacle because some girls, at times, make guys who come thereunto look like Jerks or, synonymously, dolts.” However, you will not know until you’ve given it a try. The dialogue:

“h…i,” I said, with my mouth filled with gravity.

“Hi,” SHE responded.

“I’m Zagga,” I continued, and stretched forth my hands for a handshake.

“I’m Valencia,” she said too and shook my hands.

“You have such nice and charming looks,” I added.

“Thank you.”

“It’s my pleasure.”

All this while, I was looking straight into her eyes. The reason being that anyone who broke an eye contact was seen as ‘shy’; I didn’t want that.For about three minutes, I hadn’t finished handshaking. Her palm was soft, and this reminded me of one line of a poem: 

“No one, Not even the rains, has such soft hands.” I, then, quickly admitted that, indeed, some poems are true; not EXAGGERATIONS!

Simultaneously, Kwame Acheampong was looking for me. Kwame is one closest friend I met way back in school, and he was our quiz coordinator. How we met was a mystery. It all began one day when his mother gave me a ‘lift’ from Mfantsipim( we had all gained admission into this great institution) to a bus station. Not Chapel square. Not Tantri, but somewhere farthest. There were so many ‘amanifo)’ , but…I just saw myself sitting in this woman’s 4×4 car.( amazing, isn’t it?) We conversed and she told me about her son, Kwame Acheampong.

Fortuitously in form 1, kwame and I met in the same class, 1E. We liked each other , but I liked him the more because he was, undeniably, a good student. Not academic only, but also in general matters ( including girls stuff.)Seeing us ( val and I) under a shady tree, Kwame never approached us. I later found out that it was his style not to stiffle words between two people ‘in love.’

“But we are not in love.” I wisecracked. He usually had this utterances of his so he recapitulated, “Hoh masa, nea ay3 yi de3.” 

Actually within me,  I wanted this ‘in love’ thing to happen fast. But naturally it won’t.(if it does, law of entropy becomes invalid,I reasoned.)( Haha). It’s all a matter of time.Valencia and I chat for quite long. We talked about christian life, a little about love stories, school life, freshmen, sophomores; not forgetting Interco and Superzonal competitions.

“You rarely attended the superzonals,” I asked curiously. 

“Yh. You right.” she continued, “I seldom did because it involved many schools and besides, my school was hardly first.Most often second; the worst being fourth and, you know, my school  was too great to suffer such blunder.” She ended her last statement with a smile, which supposedly meant she was being ludicrous, and that actually saved her from my critique.

“You fear crow…?” Just before I could mention it, she broke in. “I don’t fear crowd, just that…just that I’m allergic to  them.” She said hilariously. We all burst out with laughter. Just within that shortest time of laughter, I could realize only one thing. HER DIMPLES! They were as round and dented as an erythrocyte, but only that they were slightly conspicuous, even, with the unaided eye. Though I’m not the type that fancy dimples, I admired hers spur of the moment.

In all this the time took, my wrist watch had changed position facing downwards so I turned it under the pretense of looking at the time, but what I actually did was study Valencia’s reflection. I was trying  to figure her out, and sometimes it’s easier to do that when people don’t know that you’re looking at them. I watched her watching me. She had a new look, even better than before. She had changed her feminine pompadour. Her lips looked soft. All of  a sudden I realized that I was caressing her. Just when I decided to stroll with her, one of her physics tutors called for her. Her school had finished their contest and they came out victorious; How could I have known? Well, I could only tell from her tutor’s reaction and tone.

“Congrats.” I complimented.

“Congrats on…?” She asked unconsciously.

“On your school winning the contest.” I said

“Ohh yhh. Thank you. I wish you the very best in yours too.” She wished me.We stood, and then she gave me a warm hug. I held her palm as we walked. I left her palms just when we got to the door of her tutor.

“Catch you later.” She mouthed.

“That would be my pleasure.” I said finally and broke away.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

